Recipe of the Month: Sweet Potato Shepherd’s Pie

My mom comes from an Irish Catholic family, raised by two parents who were both first generation immigrants to the US straight  from Ireland. So we eat lots Shepherd’s Pie in the winter 😉

Usually, we would skin potatoes, mash them up, brown ground beef in a pan with corn, then fill a casserole dish and bake it in the oven for an hour.

Now, who has the time for that? So we’ve cut corners and adjusted the recipe… And now that I’m allergic to whit potatoes, I decided to make my own mini Sweet Potato Shepherd’s Pie while my family ate our regular Shepherd’s Pie.

Here’s what I used:

  • 2 small sweet potatoes (or 1 large)
  • ~1 cup ground beef
  • ~1/2-3/4 cup corn 

These proportions are all up to you! So if you love ground beef and not corn, adjust as you desire.

Here’s what I did:

The sweet potatoes I buy come pre-washed and wrapped individually to allow for steaming in the microwave in just 5-7 minutes. So I popped those in the microwave while I browned my ground beef in a sauce pan on the stove. I added some pepper here.

When the potatoes were done, I cut them in half and scooped out the insides into a bowl. I rinsed my corn and added that to the bowl. When my beef was cooked, I drained the pan and folded the beef into my bowl of corn and potatoes.

 
I emptied this into a small casserole dish and popped it into the oven for 20 minutes at 350 degrees.

The results? Not bad! It smelled so delicious when I pulled it out of the oven. 

The taste was obviously sweet, but I actually like sweet potatoes, so this isn’t a big difference to me compared to regular Shepherd’s Pie. It’s not buttery and salty like the mashed potatoes we traditionally make are, because the sweet potatoes are soft and wet enough on their own after steaming in the microwave. So, in reality this recipe is slightly healthier in that regard because you’re eliminating butter and salt from the recipe completely.

  
So if you are allergic to white potatoes like me, or just want to try a new, healthier version of Shepherd’s Pie, try it out and let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

